Contacts | Feedback
Calendar >>
Buy tickets >>
Join the Friends of the Baltic Sea>
Tickets Venues Sponsors History Links FAQ Press Vip-services

Helsinki Festival in a nutshell
Helsinki Festival is an arts festival held annually in late August—early September. It takes in music, theatre, dance, the visual arts, cinema and city events featuring both Finnish and non-Finnish artists of international repute.

Helsinki Festival

-was preceded by the Sibelius Weeks held for a decade and a half 1951—1965
-operates under the auspices of the Helsinki Week Foundation established in 1967. The Foundation also administers the UMO Jazz Orchestra (since 1983)
-was first held at the end of May 1968
-was shifted to late summer in 1971
-is one of the four main organizers of Musica nova Helsinki - a festival of contemporary music
-is a member of the European Festival Association, a founder member of the Finland Festivals chain and a member of the Informal European Theatre Meeting

The Helsinki Festival menu includes:

-Children’s Festival (1978—1986, 2001-)
-Night of the Arts (1989-) attracting tens of thousands in the city centre and suburbs
-Huvila Festival Tent (1995-), a unique venue by the sea
-Art goes Kapakka (1995-): artists in restaurants, bars and clubs
-Enchanted Way (1998-), tour of the city’s numerous art galleries
-culinary open-air Piazza of Tastes (1998-2000)
-Lord Mayor’s Popular Concert (2001-2003)
-Can You Festival? (2001-2002)
-Street event ASVALTTI (2003)
-Winter Concerts (2004-)


Viggo Grundstroem and Gunnar Arne Jensen 1968—1969
Seppo Nummi 1969—1976
Seppo Kimanen 1976—1979
Veijo Varpio 1979—1994
Artistic Committee chaired by Esa-Pekka Salonen 1995—1996
Risto Nieminen 1997—

Sibelius: Violin Concerto / soloists:

Sibelius Weeks 1951-1965

1951 Isaac Stern
1952 Ricardo Odnoposoff
1953 Emil Telmányi
1954 David Oistrah
1955 Yehudi Menuhin
1956 Henryk Szeryng
1957 Anja Ignatius
1959 Tossy Spivakovski
1960 Endre Wolf
1961 Ruggiero Ricci
1962 Zino Francescatti
1963 Edith Peinemann
1964 Christian Ferras
1965 David Oistrah

Helsinki Festival 1968-

1968 Igor Oistrakh
1971 Pavel Kogan
1972 Masuko Ushioda
1973 Vaclav Hudecek
1975 Gidon Kremer
1976 Oleg Kagan
1977 Ida Händel
1978 Shizuka Ishikawa
1979 Isaac Stern
1980 Henryk Szeryng
1981 Salvatore Accardo
1982 Raimundas Katilius
1985 Eugen Sarbu
1990 Shlomo Mintz
1998 Leonidas Kavakos
1999 Elisabeth Batiashvili
2000 Thomas Zehetmair
2001 Gidon Kremer
2002 Julian Rachlin
2003 Antti Tikkanen
2004 Midori